Bernoulli's Equation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ven2083

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I was applying the Bernoulli's equation to real life objects, such as a high-pressure hose (used to clean driveways, etc.) and found that something is odd....if the radius of a hose is smaller, than the pressure is decreased, and its the velocity of the fluid that is increased. So why do they call a high-pressure hose "high-pressure" when in fact the hose and nozzle that it comes out is smaller than a garden hose you attach to it. It seems that it should be called a "high-velocity" hose since the fluid that is going from the garden hose (larger radius, larger pressure) to the smaller nozzle (lower radius, lower pressure, high velocity)...I feel like I am missing something here, but not sure. Anyone have an idea?

I am studying TBR Physics Part II Book page 76 Example 7.9b for reference. This problem is what got me thinking in the first place.

Members don't see this ad.

I like the way you are thinking. May be they should called it a high velocity hose instead, because as pressure and radius decrease the velocity increase to keep the flow constant , but if we increase the pressure while keeping the radius constant then the flow will increase in this case it can be called high pressure hose.