Best Clinical Psychology Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lindubitable

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new around here, and I am currently an undergraduate majoring in psychology. I was wondering what were the top clinical psychology programs? I've done some research, and I've seen the typical top school mentioned (eg. Yale, Harvard), but I have noticed that the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is pretty high on the rankings as well. I will be grateful if you can provide me any additional information. Also, if you know of any international programs, that would be great too. Thank you once again!

Members don't see this ad.

If you are truly only interested in the creme de la creme, check out the U.S. News Rankings of Clinical Psychology programs. Although its methodology is questionable at best (essentially DCT ratings...) and people on here love to trash it (especially when their school is poorly ranked), the TOP programs aren't really in question....

UCLA, Wisconsin, Washington, and UNC (I wouldn't dare attempt to place them in any kind of discernible order) are widely considered the very top tier programs. Duke, Berkeley, and Minnesota all have historically strong programs as well. Of course, you have some of the Ivy's: Harvard, Yale, and Penn. There are others that are more than arguable for top 10 positions...

I don't know too much about international; however, I don't believe the clinical PhD is directly transferable to international degree types...