Best Way to Study for OAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thewaytogo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm currently a third year undergrad and would like to go on to optometry school the fall right after I graduate, if possible :)

I was wondering, what are your recommendations for the best way to prepare the OAT? Are prep courses worth it? The only one close enough to me is Kaplan, and I have heard that they are not that helpful - they just force you to study.

If I were to take a course, I am planning on doing the one from mid January - March, and then taking the soon after in April-ish. Is this too late (because I should save room for a 2nd try?)

Otherwise, what are some good self-study materials I can use? Again, how is the Kaplan OAT prep book? I also hear about the "Crack the OAT" bundle on the computer - any comments before I invest?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys,

I'm currently a third year undergrad and would like to go on to optometry school the fall right after I graduate, if possible :)

I was wondering, what are your recommendations for the best way to prepare the OAT? Are prep courses worth it? The only one close enough to me is Kaplan, and I have heard that they are not that helpful - they just force you to study.

If I were to take a course, I am planning on doing the one from mid January - March, and then taking the soon after in April-ish. Is this too late (because I should save room for a 2nd try?)

Otherwise, what are some good self-study materials I can use? Again, how is the Kaplan OAT prep book? I also hear about the "Crack the OAT" bundle on the computer - any comments before I invest?

Thank you!

I took the Kaplan course and it worked great for me. It was worth every penny I invested too, because my score has helped me get scholarship offers for more than the cost of the course.