-blockers

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

quickfeet

Smooth Operator
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Other thread got me thinking a little bit about this. In those pretty rare circumstances where you prescribe them for anxiety, which one do you like best and why? It appears atenolol has a long half life (Inderal a short one) but metoprolol has β1 selectivity and therefore better for anxiety. I am only a student so I am just curious.

Members don't see this ad.

Other thread got me thinking a little bit about this. In those pretty rare circumstances where you prescribe them for anxiety, which one do you like best and why? It appears atenolol has a long half life (Inderal a short one) but metoprolol has β1 selectivity and therefore better for anxiety. I am only a student so I am just curious.

Propanolol crosses the blood-brain barrier better than any of these, and such it is used most often for tx of anxiety. Metoprolol does cross significantly but not as much. It could be a reasonable option. Atenolol does not cross well at all.

Reactions: 1 user
Propanolol crosses the blood-brain barrier better than any of these, and such it is used most often for tx of anxiety. Metoprolol does cross significantly but not as much. It could be a reasonable option. Atenolol does not cross well at all.

Does anyone use the extended release version of Metoprolol (succinate) versus the IR?

Members don't see this ad :)
Anyone have thoughts on Bystolic (nebivolol)? Very lipophilic, and very B1 selective. Lower rates of depression and the other BB side effects than even metoprolol...

Hmm...I wonder...

Anyone have thoughts on Bystolic (nebivolol)? Very lipophilic, and very B1 selective. Lower rates of depression and the other BB side effects than even metoprolol...

Hmm...I wonder...

Isn't that stuff expensive, though? Virtually all the others are dirt cheap.