Brachytherapy Training Courses for physicians out of residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RedRad

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently in my last year of residency and the few practices that I am strongly considering joining are willing to send me for 1-2 week long training courses for either permanent seed prostate brachy or HDR brachytherapy after I start practicing.

Does anyone specifically know what centers offer such training courses for physicians out of residency? Also, are their any training courses for modalities other than brachytherapy that anybody would recommend?

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently in my last year of residency and the few practices that I am strongly considering joining are willing to send me for 1-2 week long training courses for either permanent seed prostate brachy or HDR brachytherapy after I start practicing.

Does anyone specifically know what centers offer such training courses for physicians out of residency? Also, are their any training courses for modalities other than brachytherapy that anybody would recommend?

Thank you

Seattle Prostate Institute would be my recommendation for permanent LDR implants. They lost a few docs, but they are still the king of prostate implants.

Thanks for the heads up Clint! Any centers you would recommend for HDR training?

Members don't see this ad :)
HDR is on the way down (discomfort to pts). I used to do a lot of HDR.
Now back to permanent implants.

Which city are you in?

Is HDR really on the way down? With improved patient convenience, good early outcomes, as well as higher reimbursement rates, I was under the impression that it has increasingly been adopted by radiation oncologists.

Are there any centers that provide training courses in HDR for post-residency physicians?