Breakdown AA26 (atypical case)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Old_newbie

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just took the DAT this morning (1/27/14) and was very happy with my scores.
I wanted to share with you guys on what was useful for me, and how I would have done it differently.

Disclaimer: this breakdown is not meant to brag, but to show everyone that ANYTHING is possible.

Breakdown:
PAT 24
QR 30
RC 28
Bio 25
GC 24
OC 24
TS 25
AA 26
WP_20140127_001-001.jpg
Background: I am a PhD student at one of the top universities in the US. Foreign born. English is my second language. Last time I learned organic chemistry was 7 years ago.
I wanted to change my career path but am keeping it a secret for now: so no-one knows I'm preparing for the DAT. That means I am a full time (plus some weekends) researcher. Mostly, I come home from lab at 7:30pm, and study the DAT till 1am. That's all the time I have to study: ~5 hours a day. In order to take the test on Monday (today), I had to ask for a sick leave and pretend I'm sick. :(
Plus, I only had 5 weeks to study for the DAT. Luckily, a week of it was through the Christmas break, so I could spend more time out of the lab without people noticing.
I only wanted to apply to ONE school (the reason being I don't want to move), which means I knew I needed a really high score.
Being a PhD student, I think I have very good studying habits (when I focus, I'm 100% focused). I take very good notes and constantly review them every night (strongly recommend Microsoft OneNote: it syncs on my work PC, laptop, and phone). I also modified my study plan several times, to focus on my weak links (more detailed below).

My approach:
PAT
: Crack DAT PAT, Bootcamp, Achiever