BS/MS vs BS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

litotes

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

First of all, I'm new here so go easy on me. lol

So anyways I'm a rising sophomore at a HYP. I'm majoring in Ecology & Evolutionary Biology. The department has a four-year BS/MS program where you basically complete some graduate level classes and complete a major research project w/ thesis to graduate with both degrees. I am strongly considering pursuing this track on its own merit-- seems like more bang for my tuition buck and I love research and would like to produce a project as significant as a Master's thesis. However, I am also wondering if pursuing this track would be beneficial to my med school chances. Would med schools be impressed by / care about the completion of two degrees in four years?

I'm planning to apply in the 2016-17 cycle, my senior year, so I would obviously not have both degrees at that point. I'm assuming I'd be able to show on my app that I am on track to earn both degrees that year.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Members don't see this ad.

it depends on if you think you can handle it appropriately. if it's going to impact your grades, i would not do it. a very large majority of people get in with just bachelor's degrees, good grades/MCAT, and ECs.

it might help you more at schools big on research.

Even if they dont care about it, youre going to be doing a lot of research, taking challenging/interesting courses, potentially getting published, and getting a good bang for your buck... Why wouldnt you want to do it?

Members don't see this ad :)