CA: 3.92GPA 32 MCAT chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

asecondtolife

Counting sheep
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
cGPA: 3.92, sGPA: 3.89
MCAT: 32 (11 PS / 10 VR / 11 BS)
~50hrs shadowing, ~200hrs hospital volunteering
2 years UG research and 1 year lab manager at same lab
Officer of two student clubs
~50hrs community service at a women's shelter (summers)
2 good LORs, working on my last few

I am a California resident and am looking to stay in California for family reasons. UC Davis is a top school for me (UCSF would be wonderful, but realistically that's not likely haha). Any other CA school -- UCSD, UCLA, Loma Linda -- is an option as well.

I am debating between applying this cycle and delaying a year to strengthen my app. Looking for opinions -- I only want to apply this cycle if I have a good shot at CA schools. If I delay to work on my application, what areas should I work on (retake MCAT / ECs / etc.)

Thank you for all replies!! :love:

Members don't see this ad.

pleasure to message you!

am alum of auburn college of vet med 1991 and admitted to 4 medical schools also; worked for princeton review, phd work in neurology in human medicine

your chances are excellent-been in this "game" since 1984 and 3.92 is "over the top" (3.8+ is for that matter); your MCAT is weak COMPARED to your GPA; if I were you, I'd apply, and if not admitted retake MCAT (OF COURSE), as your GPA cannot be raised any more; it always is good to take more difficult courses, or get an MPH or MS in something (motivation, up for challenge all that BS)