CA license by reciprocation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdaztxca

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi:

I am a licensed pharmacist in TX. I am thinking about moving to CA in the near future. I checked the CA board of pharmacy but did not get a clear answer. I have the following questions:

1) I took and passed NAPLEX in 2006. I know I have to take CPJE if I want to transfer my license to CA. Do I also have to take NAPLEX again?

2) NABP offers a service called Electronic Licensure Transfer Program. Do I need to use this service (and pay $300 :() in addition to filing my application to CA board of pharmacy?

Thank all of you for your help!

David

Members don't see this ad.

CA does not reciprocate (as I know the only state in USA), if you did not transfer your NAPLEX score to CA, then you have to take both NAPLEX and CPJE. That NABP electronic licensure transfer program is the first step of the reciprocation. Good luck!

Hi:

I am a licensed pharmacist in TX. I am thinking about moving to CA in the near future. I checked the CA board of pharmacy but did not get a clear answer. I have the following questions:

1) I took and passed NAPLEX in 2006. I know I have to take CPJE if I want to transfer my license to CA. Do I also have to take NAPLEX again?

2) NABP offers a service called Electronic Licensure Transfer Program. Do I need to use this service (and pay $300 :() in addition to filing my application to CA board of pharmacy?

Thank all of you for your help!

David

From what I understand, you must retake the NAPLEX again if you did not score transfer to California BEFORE taking the naplex, even if you did pass it after 1/1/2004. If you try to take the CPJE and use a NAPLEX score from another state without having it score transfered, then it's the same as reciprocity (which CA does not do).