Can an international dentist practice in the US?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nadermekadis

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm deciding whether to go to Dent School or not but I want to work in the US, Canada or Australia.. I'm not sure about the processes.. is there a similar test for Dentistry like the USMLE? is NBDE the same as USMLE? How can I practice Dentistry in US, Canada or Australia?? I need to know very soon cause I need to decide (p.s I'm an international student from Egypt)

Members don't see this ad.

dear , I am an international dentist also , I live in USA , so what I am going to tell you is about USA only ,
to practice in USA you have to :
1- be graduated from an accredited dental school ( means either from USA or Canada)...
2- Pass the NBDE part 1 (special test for dentists like USMLE part 1 for medical )..
3- Pass the NBDE part 2 (special test for dentists like USNLE part 2 for medical )...
4- pass the state board exam which is a specific exam provided by the state you desire to prctice in ...

So what we do as international dentists , we take NBDE part 1 and NBDE part 2 then we apply for a specific programs in specific dental schools in USA or Canada for 2-3 years (which is not an easy step ) then we do the state board exam after that ...

I hope this will help you as a general view , if you need any help let me know

Reactions: 1 users
c'mon my friend,
your decision should you become a dentist or not shouldn't be made on where you want to work after 5 or 6 years of school but do you actually like the profession

first of all you might want to ask yourself the question do you want to become a dentist or not. I see you are familiar with the usmle, maybe a physician is the path for you...
think about it.