Can ants suffer from pain?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BrightLight

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have too many colonies of ants in my backyard so I plan to dig open some and pour boiling water into it to wipe out as many ants as possible. Being a healthcare professional, I care deeply about the suffering of others (even if they are not humans). Before I proceed, I want to ask all you knowledgeable folks whether you know ants can suffer from the pain of boiling water. I have done a google search, but answers vary widely. Please contribute your valuable inputs.

Members don't see this ad.

POTD! :thumbup:

Great Poster.. Would Read Again! A+++++++

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm surprised Owlegrad didn't say: "SDN is not for medical advice."

I'm surprised Owlegrad didn't say: "SDN is not for medical advice."

I am not sure that asking if ants experience pain qualifies as medical advice. Interestingly, if this was posted in the vet forums it probably would. :laugh:

I think studying for law is rubbing off on me. :(

You should probably safely relocate each and every ant. Or just relocate yourself, and give them their land back.

Cuz if you kill even one, you've caused suffering for all of them. That's their cousin Antonio, or brother Anthony, or sister Antoinette!

I have always wondered myself if killing invertebrates with extreme heat was cruel.

With ant colonies,you have a few issues. First, some nests are pretty deep. Second, you would have to kill enough workers and the queen.

If you are open to pesticides, but don't want to spread it all over the lawn, you can buy those stakes where the foragers or whatever you call them take poisoned food back to the nest.

There are non-pesticide options too such as coffee grounds. Lots of sources on the internet.