Can I do all of my interviews in December?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BrownieMasshole

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 4th year med student applying for internal medicine categorical programs. I'm applying to programs in the Northeast/New York area only. I have December and January off and am trying to make some plans for January. Do you think it would be feasible to do all of my interviews in ~3.5 weeks in December (save possibly one interview in January)? What are the experiences of people applying to internal medicine? I plan on submitting my application by the end of September and plan to apply to ~12 programs.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a 4th year med student applying for internal medicine categorical programs. I'm applying to programs in the Northeast/New York area only. I have December and January off and am trying to make some plans for January. Do you think it would be feasible to do all of my interviews in ~3.5 weeks in December (save possibly one interview in January)? What are the experiences of people applying to internal medicine? I plan on submitting my application by the end of September and plan to apply to ~12 programs.

Thanks.

programs have already started downloading applications from eras... so, yours isn't in yet, means programs haven't downloaded it... so you might be behind... so you might not have all offers for interview in december.

your best bet would be to get your application in sooner rather than later- after all, what's really going to change in 2-3 weeks on your application?

Also consider that many programs may not schedule interviews during the final one to two weeks of December, given faculty's penchant for taking vacation time then.