Can I get into Dental School? Previous Pre-Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Drsosa

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I earned my bachelors degree from a middle tier university in Nutrition & Food Science. I have prepared myself extensively for a chance to get accepted into medical school. Ultimately, I have decided that the lifestyle of a physician is not for me, and unfortunately, I decided this right before I apply to medical school.

I am currently on a gap year of my studies and I am looking to apply to dental school this upcoming cycle. I have gained some incredible letters of recommendation that are very personalized from various professors, PI's, administration from my University, and organizations I have worked with during my undergraduate years. I really don't want to waste these letters. (hopefully I can get them to re-write them and tailor them oto dental programs) Everything I have done from extra curricular's, research, and shadowing were done in order to better my chances of getting into a MD or DO program. How do I spin this around and make my self into a compelling Dental applicant, as I was a compelling Medical applicant prior. Do I have a good chance of getting into Dental school amid a average DAT score. Will coming from a disadvantaged socioeconomic background play any role in whether schools view my application Differently? (It would have in Medicine). Does a research position at the NIH in pre-natal medicine positively or negatively affect my application? Please help.

Here is some of my stats prior to taking the DAT;

1. GPA : 3.5
2. Science GPA: 3.5
3. Founder & President of Student organization on campus
4. Board position with non profit organization (United Way)
5. Served on campaign committees for United way
6.Emerging Leader program with the United Way
7. 1 year research at the NIH for premature birth.