Can you join the Navy as a pre med student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

browneyes124

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a senior in high school but technically a sophomore in college. I have taken a lot of dual enrollment classes while in high school so I have around 30 credits already completed and yes they will transfer as academic credits. I chose the school I did because they have a really good Pre med program. My major is BS Psychology with a concentration in Behavioral Neuroscience. When I visited the school I feel in love. I was originally going to join after college and go to USUHS. But I'm curious as to whether I can somehow join in college but still complete college? (if that makes sense). My school has ROTC but just for Army. I was reading another thread and someone said you can be in the reserves :shrug: but with my understanding of the reserves is that you go to boot camp/ training then are inactive for 4 years then serve 4 years? I just don't think this would work because While i'll finish college in 2 years, Ill be in med school for 4 so that's 6 years. This might be totally out there but since USU is a military facility and you are considered active duty while at the med school, could that count for the reserves? like if I was inactive for 2 to finish college then go to USU then I'd be active so that would still fall under the guidelines right? Idk im just very confused at this point...:(
Also say if I were to do the reserves and it all did work out. if I go to med school, will they pull me out or can I finish then start my payback?
any thoughts would help lol even if it is just to explain something I said that wasn't quite right

Members don't see this ad.