Canadian at US Med School & Competitive Specialties

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bqhealer

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year med student hoping to match into an orthopaedic residency spot. My Step 1 score is competitive (249) but i'm Canadian without permanent residency. Will this hurt my application? Are there ortho residency programs that are Canadian-friendly?

Help!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a 3rd year med student hoping to match into an orthopaedic residency spot. My Step 1 score is competitive (249) but i'm Canadian without permanent residency. Will this hurt my application? Are there ortho residency programs that are Canadian-friendly?

Help!

It hurts only a little. You will match somewhere and there aren't any that are Canadian friendly. The only difference between you and a US MD student is you need a visa that is it. There is no cultural barrier, educational differences you'll be fine.

Thanks Medstart108! Been hearing many different perspectives on this piece...are you a canadian student at a US med school? or do you know canadians who've matched into a competitive specialty?

Members don't see this ad :)
I didn't apply to orthopedics, but can tell you that my road into US residency as a Canadian, non-US permanent resident, non-US citizen who did med school in the US was much harder than the typical US student because I needed the H1b for residency, and about every other program I looked into refused to sponsor it, and only wanted the J1, which for various reasons I could not accept. Very frustrating. Don't think it'll be much better in ortho, one of the most competitive specialities. Sorry, OP, if I'm bursting your bubble but that was my experience. It is possible, but you may have to sacrifice location.

Now, if you're cool with the J1, then never mind the above, you should have less of an issue matching.