Canadian graduate red flag

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

littlereddot

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am applying for NRMP residency match in pediatrics next year and I am really nervous about my chances.

I graduated from a Canadian medical school in 2014. I am currently doing M.Sc in Epidemiology and I am a principal investigator in 2 research projects which will be completed next year. I don't have any publications.

Step 1- 237, Step 2 CK-233, CS-1st attempt. I am taking Step 3 in 2 months.

All of my electives were done in Canada and my LORs are from Canadian pediatricians.

I will only be applying to programs which give H1b so my choices are very limited (only ~40 of them sponsor H1b).

Are canadian graduates considered equivalent to AMGs or IMGs? What do you think are my chances of matching? Should I back up with Internal Medicine as well?

My only red flag was that I graduated in 2014 and I have 2 years gap of clinical work (Doing a masters in epidemiology and my thesis project is on pediatrics). How much do programs look at that and does it look bad? Is it going to affect my chances of matching?

Members don't see this ad.

so few Canadian grads apply in the US yearly that it's very difficult to definitively say how you will be viewed (this year 24 applicants with 17 matches, last year 14 applicants with 6 matches). My guess would be somewhere between an AMG and IMG, but it probably depends a lot on the individual applicant and whether they have a compelling reason why they want to do residency in the US (the reasons are obvious for someone from India/Pakistan/etc, less so for Canadians).