Canadian MD Premed..should I bother? 27Q 3.7-3.8ish gpa

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ppubz

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey sdn this is my first time posting because I am so lost,
so I finally decided to sign up and just see what people think. I am Canadian I finished an honors bachelor of Biology graduating with a 3.7 or greater (hopefully I did the calculation properly) only needing to take two extra summer courses to make up missing credits otherwise 3/4 of my years had 28+ credits/30 credits being a full courseload. I wrote the mcat last summer and got a 27Q (which sounds like a huge ouch from all the forum posts I read) it was evenly scored with an 8PS 9VS 10BS and Q in writing. I currently am taking a semester off and trying to find myself. I did do lab research, work at a hospital, a couple club exec positions, petitions, caucus, camp counselling, tours, and other EC volunteering throughout university.

I am willing to write the mcat again but I am currently looking into a biotechnology masters programs because I am kinda interested in learning the business side of biology also.

I am writing here because I honestly thought getting a 27Q was the end to me even bothering with med school without rewriting.

I just decided to stop jumping to conclusions and ask the experts aka you guys. Do you think I could have a chance applying to an American MD school? Which ones, everyone lists so many, I have gone through so many websites but seem to just get more and more lost and anxious haha.

If I continued with doing a masters and maybe coming back to the medicine path 2-3years later...would that hurt me? Should I just say forget it and I need to write my mcat again? any help would be amazing

Members don't see this ad.

27 is bad, I would suggest "doing a masters and maybe coming back to the medicine path 2-3 years later" or retake MCAT.