Career change advice... MSW vs MFT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Changus

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

What a wonderful forum. I've looked around and seen some information that is definitely helpful, but was looking for info that is specific to my situation.

Since college I have been living and working in L.A. in the entertainment industry (I'm a writer but not always a working writer) While I've been fortunate to have some success, I'm now approaching my later 30s (37) and exhausted by the complete instability of my field (and the shrinking prospects for TV writers.) So I've been considering a career change.

I've gone to therapy for years and it's helped me a great deal and I like the idea of helping others a lot, and feel I have the right temperament for it. My goal would be to eventually have a private practice doing psychodynamic therapy (with perhaps some cognitive techniques thrown in.) I am not interested in working in a clinic or a school (although realize I would do so during my training to get those 3000 hours.)

There doesn't seem to be a huge difference between MSW and MFT, in terms of pursuing a private therapy practice. I assume since I have a certain goal in mind, the classes in the MFT program would be more interesting to me since they deal more with counseling than those in the MSW program, but perhaps I'm wrong.

Also, in my idealized version of things, I would also have time to write in addition to seeing patients. I don't know if this is true. Is that a crazy notion?

I also don't know if one can make a living, be the main provider for a family, and own a house in L.A. being a therapist these days (with most people using insurance to pay.) I don't see much discussion of income on the forum, and maybe that's because it changes so much from place to place, or maybe its bad taste to ask, but I'd be curious on people's thoughts.