Career Change

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

G200Driver

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm sure this has been brought up many times before so let me apologize now. I'm 30 years old and considering a career change to pharmacy. I have a four year degree in aeronautical science, a minor in business, as well as several aviation certificates. Can anyone give me any information, or direct me to a previous thread, about school requirements, time frame for completing school, job prospects, etc. Also, are there any books are web sites you can read to see if you have any aptitude in the field? I've had a fair amount of math and physics through school, but my biology and chemistry experience is limited to high school.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

My bachelors is in Nuclear Engineering Tech and I worked in nuclear power for six years.

So I hear ya.

I'm not familiar with PharmCAS (most Texas schools don't use it), but this looks like a good start for you:

http://www.pharmcas.org/collegesschools/start.htm

You should look at schools in your area (or just that you prefer).

Typically the pre-reqs are in line with those of med schools:
  • English - 1 year
  • History - 1 year
  • Calculus and/or Statistics
  • Chemistry - General & Organic - 2 years
  • Biology - 2 years
  • Physics - 1 or 2 semesters (Check for Calc-based or not)

I'm sure there are others, but it varies by school and application.

Hope that's a start in the right direction.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello,