Career-changers, how do you know that you'll get job satisfaction from being a doctor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ayjaystudent

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm curious about those that have worked in different industries and have now realized that medicine is the path for them. What made you believe that you'll be happier at this job and not at your old job?

Members don't see this ad.

I was already miserable in my old profession. I knew I couldn't stick it out for another 20 years, so I started searching. Medicine was the first profession I actually felt excited about, but I thought maybe it was the novelty so I started volunteering while taking the pre requisite courses. After five years of this I was still as excited as I was when found it originally. Not really sure what else I could have done to properly vet it. Now I am in 3rd year on my surgery rotation. I have been putting in 70 hour weeks and I am still having a ball. I would rather spend 70 hours at the hospital than 40 in my previous profession.

Reactions: 1 users
Shadow, volunteer and take lots and lots of time on this decision (i.e. Years). Medicine can be a great job for the right person but absolutely is not for everyone, and you don't want to fall into a grass only seems greener situation. Definitely don't run to medicine just because you dislike your current job -- have some articulable reason medicine is a draw to you. As always mentioned on SDN, if you can picture yourself happy doing a job other than medicine, you probably should do that other job. Medicine has been great for me personally but I know others who feel like they took a wrong turn.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)