About the ads

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

career switch

Discussion in 'Neurology' started by sk678, Sep 18, 2003.

1. This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. sk678

sk678 Member

SDN 7+ Year Member

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    i was hoping there were some well informed people or neurologists that could help me.

i am in my preliminary year now and scheduled to begin a residency in a very competative field next year, i graduated at the top of my class last year of an american medical school with top board scores.

however, i have recently been interested in possibly switching to the field of neurology although others think im nuts.

however i would like to know a few things......

what is the call exactly like?

can i make more than 300K without killing myself?

what is the average income?
    (i know im taking a huge income cut from the field im switching from already)

how easy is it to start a private practice?

are people in this field generally happy?

how competative are fellowships?

how necesary are fellowships to geta good job or start off a good practice??

do you think its possible to call up a program at this point in the year and see if they have a spot for next year available, assuming that you are an outstanding student ?

please let me know if you guys know

thanks
  2. neurologist

neurologist Schussing Moderator

Attending Physician
    Physician Faculty SDN 10+ Year Member
    1. How about starting by talking to some neurologists in your own hospital or arranging to do a neurology rotation?