Case Report Lido Toxicity

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pain Applicant1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Because I'm brand new to private practice and since I've discovered that the private world is very different from the academic one, I've been networking and shadowing various not so local pain and other docs to learn how they perform their procedures and how they operate their practice. The other day, a young pt with seizure history was given a dose of lidocaine (about 10mg) in her L5/S1 TFESI with the same injection performed on the contralateral side. Both sides showed a nice epidural spread. Within a minute or two, the patient became completely toxic including metallic taste in mouth and lightheadedness progressing on to full blown seizure activity which was long lasting as the lido significantly lowered her already low seizure threshold. Let's just say the office was ill prepared to manage as they are very busy, have been open for several years with no major complication, and this was their last expectation.

I'm not sure if anyone has experienced this with such a small dose of lidocaine in the lumbosacral epidural space but I know I haven't. I've had to manage lidocaine toxicity before (SGB) but never from this low of a dose during a TFESI. Anyhow, something to keep in mind.

Members don't see this ad.

10 mg of Lidocaine for a TFESI...why?

He uses a solution containing about 1ml of 1% lido. I believe for similar reasons as most folks who use lido for TFESI use it but he also told me he likes to do a test dose with it for vascular uptake

Members don't see this ad :)
What do you mean by test dose with 1 ml of 1 % lido

How can you do test dose of vascular uptake with lidocaine, are u expecting local toxicity as a test dose with lidocaine, and you watch for toxicity , havent heard it any one doing

Don't have enough detail to comment though