cashing out 401k to pay off student loans?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vardenafil

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
well im kinda depressed right now. i graduated in 2004 and have been paying 800 dollars a month in student loans ever since. i just checked my balance on my student loans and ive only paid down 4 thousand in principal. i feel like im never going to pay this crap off. i recently seen an article about a harvard bussiness grad who payed off 90k in loans in a year or so. and it got me thinking. if i cash out my 401k after taxes i can pay off about 40k in loans. and if i stop contributing to my 401k and put that into the remainder of the loan it will be payed off in 3 years. anybody done this? or having any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

In most cases cashing out a 401(k) is a bad idea because you will pay full income tax at your current tax bracket (28%?) PLUS a 10% penalty. And then you might not have enough to retire on.

Taking a loan against your 401(k) and/or stopping contributions is a bad idea as well because you are missing out on the employer match.

Are you able to provide more details about your situation such as loan balance and length, interest rates, and maybe even other expenses in your budget?

well im kinda depressed right now. i graduated in 2004 and have been paying 800 dollars a month in student loans ever since. i just checked my balance on my student loans and ive only paid down 4 thousand in principal. i feel like im never going to pay this crap off. i recently seen an article about a harvard bussiness grad who payed off 90k in loans in a year or so. and it got me thinking. if i cash out my 401k after taxes i can pay off about 40k in loans. and if i stop contributing to my 401k and put that into the remainder of the loan it will be payed off in 3 years. anybody done this? or having any advice?