Cavities Clarification

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

icekitsune

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,
I'm a pharmacist, the other day I had a patient come in asking about prescription fluoride toothpaste and a whole bunch of questions that I didn't know the answers to. I tried to search online about this topic but got alot of vague answers so I told her to talk to her dentist. However, I was kinda curious and I wanted to educate myself on these topics so I hope this thread is acceptable. So patient had bitewing xray which the dentist said something about faded color on one of her tooth on two surfaces, its btw two teeth. The color looks a little different but it doesn't hurt and there seems to be nothing that indicates a cavity from the visual eye.

Dentist states that it was a cavity due to lack of flossing and it needs to be filled not asap but within 3 months time. There was alot of information regarding reminerization and fluoride toothpaste that I found online (oil pulling?). Even on the gov website, it states that a cavity can be reversed. So in practice, can a cavity be reversed by fluoride therapy and change in habits? If a cavity is located in the enamel part only(since no pain), does that mean a filling will not be necessary since the enamel can be reminerized? I also read how teeth can reminerize and become white spots where parts were deminerized then reminerized. Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't a bitewing xray shows spots of deminerization and changes in density of tooth structure/gum changes? If someone could send some articles or sites, that would be great too.

Members don't see this ad.

Caries can be reversed if it's limited in enamel only, and use of fluoride, flossing, etc will help remineralize the decalcified enamel, whether its on a proximal or chewing surface. However, not all dentists believe in this idea. Some will fill all lesions even if it's on enamel.