Chad2 daily risk?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

europeman

Trauma Surgeon / Intensivist
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm a surgeon. Quick question. If a patient chad2 score puts them at risk for annual stroke of say 9%...... What is their daily risk?

I'm interested of course with my post op patients when I hold anti coagulation.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Lol. I guess this is more of a stats question. If annual risk is 9%, is it an accurate mathematical statement to then day the daily risk is 9%/365? I'm not sure.

Given cards deals with these questions all the time in the setting of post stent, post op, and post blah blah blah input and risk stratification for patients, I thought you would be best to answer the question!

I'm still not sure that's 9%/365 is the daily risk. U sure?

Members don't see this ad :)
If the probability of having a stroke is x per day, each day it doesn't happen with a probability of 1-x.
A stroke doesn't happen during a whole year with a probability of (1-x)^365

If we know the probability of having a stroke in a year is 0.09, then

0.09=1-(1-x)^365

His daily risk of stroke is 0.0258%

Which (?coincidentally) is close to 0.09/365

im interested too (neither cards nor sx) postop would seem higher risk than run of the mill chads daily/ yearly risk that calculator was designed for...what is the sense of postop risk>?

Why would post op be higher risk for non-new onset a fib? I would think the risks are about the same. New onset is a totally different animal of course

Don't know what the evidence out there is specifically re AFib, but conceptually it might make sense given that post-op is a relatively hypercoagulable state - whatever static blood is in the left atrium might be more likely to form a clot