Chance me please...applying this cycle

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thethinkbox

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

Graduated in 2011 from a top 50 state university
cGPA-3.85ish
BCMP-3.95
MCAT- PS9 VR8 BS11 = 28 :(
State Residency- CA :(

Clinical hours- 200hrs
Shadowing- 50 hrs
Research- 2~3 years
Short term mission experience
Current work- clinical lab associate (help docs talk to patients who aren't fluent in english)
LOR- 2 sci prof, 1 non sci prof, 1 research prof,1 from my supervisor (he's a doctor)

This is my first time applying. I know the MCAT will hold me back for MD acceptances...especially in state med schools (stupid CA residency..)
Assuming I apply early, do I have a fighting chance for an MD school? Is it enough to warrant a retake in July or August? How much of a set back due to the MCAT score?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I think your stats are great! Good job on the stellar sGPA. Most lower tier schools rank GPA much higher than the MCAT in their decision process, so thats good. I think you definitely have a shot for at least one interview. Taking the MCAT in July, and knowing that you'll have a 30-31 is ideal though. Only take it if you are certain you can get that 2-3 point increase. If you have a lot of time on your hands and can score higher, by all means, do that!! Good luck.

Hello all,

Graduated in 2011 from a top 50 state university
cGPA-3.85ish
BCMP-3.95
MCAT- PS9 VR8 BS11 = 28 :(
State Residency- CA :(

Clinical hours- 200hrs
Shadowing- 50 hrs
Research- 2~3 years
Short term mission experience
Current work- clinical lab associate (help docs talk to patients who aren't fluent in english)
LOR- 2 sci prof, 1 non sci prof, 1 research prof,1 from my supervisor (he's a doctor)

This is my first time applying. I know the MCAT will hold me back for MD acceptances...especially in state med schools (stupid CA residency..)