Chance me please! cGPA: 3.52 sGPA: 3.35, bad mcat

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jacquean

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I’m wondering what my chances are for both MD/DO. I was a female asian pre-med anthropology major at a mid tier UC and I am a CA resident (trad applicant). My stats vary from AAMC to AACOMAS due to a few retakes.

AAMC: cGPA 3.53, sGPA: 3.25 vs AACOMAS: cGPA: 3.52, sGPA: 3.35

I’m currently finishing up my last quarter at a post-bacc which will hopefully bump up my GPAs to 3.5x, 3.3-3.4x. So far I received 2 A’s, 2 A-s, and 1 C+(first quarter at post bacc, tough class) in my 2 quarters there. Will this hinder my chances? I’m hoping to end up with 3 more A’s by the end of this quarter so my post bacc gpa would be 3.7X, essentially an upward trend besides that single first quarter grade.

ECs:
-Part time job as barista ( 7 mo)
-part time Hostess ( 5 mo)
-Part time job as front desk assistant in English dept (8 mo)

-Lab assistant for biochem department (10 mo)
-Research assistant for UC School of Med w/ an abstract presented at conference but not 1st author (2 yrs)
-Anthro Senior honors thesis on Epigenetics w/ poster presentation at undergrad symposium
-University Anthro Honors program graduate
-Lamda Kappa Alpha Anthro International Honors society
-Research associate for a non-profit eye cancer foundation (7 mo-present)

-Free clinic medical assistant volunteer (2 yrs)
-Hospital volunteer (10 mo)

-Head of marketing/fundraising for car club (founded that position, raised the most money for community car show in its 8 yrs)
-volunteer for women’s shelter (1mo-present)

-*no shadowing yet, but have 2(1 MD, 1 DO) in place for July so far

MCAT 2015: Lethal I know, but will retake this June.
Phys/chem 28-43%
CARS 40-55% (I got 80-90s% during practice though!! Disappointed)
Biochem: 43-58%
Psych: 44-59%

LORs: 6 total
1 non-science prof
1 science prof