MD Chance me please, Student Doctor Network!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cxra

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm new to this website-- didn't even realize "chancing me" was a thing... But now that I know, I must be chanced. If you are willing, please take a look at my background and tell me what you think!

GPA: 3.92
sGPA: 3.86
MCAT: 35

Key qualities:
Undergrad education had a lot of breadth-- Bio, Chinese majors with Math minor
Volunteered 15hrs/week at a free clinic with major responsibilities and supporting letter of rec (also worked as a phlebotomist here)
Strong research background-- 2 publications (not first author though... like 4th I think), received nationally competitive research fellowship
I believe I have very strong letters of rec from professors/PI/medical director of the clinic I work at

I graduated in May, am continuing research/volunteer work for a year with plans to travel to China for several months in the Spring.

Schools:

Case Western
Cleveland Clinic Lerner College
Columbia
Georgetown
Harvard
Medical College of Wisconsin
University of Wisconsin-Madison
University of Minnesota
University of Rochester
University of Michigan
Yale
University of Pennsylvania
Stanford
Rush
Wayne State
Rutgers

(I am a WI resident)

--

Thank you so much in advance!!

Members don't see this ad.

Numbers are excellent. Clinical and research experiences are also excellent. Do you have any other ECs? Because they can differentiate you for the top schools. Your list has a lot of big names on there; it is fine to keep them, but you need to a solid foundation of less selective schools.

Remove: Rutgers (in state bias), Wayne State (in state bias).

Consider adding 5 or so schools from the following: Ohio State, Cincinnati, SLU, Temple, Jefferson, Einstein, Loyola, Rosalind Franklin, Creighton, Vermont, Wake Forest, USC