Chance Me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WastedPremed

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I'm currently a Middle School teacher who graduated in 2014. I am thinking of applying to the next cycle for Dental School. My stats are as follows:

3.71 cGPA, 3.63 sGPA, 21 DAT.

Issues: Got C+'s in both Organic Chemistries (A's in Labs), and a C in Anatomy.

Other than that, I've shadowed quite a bit, and currently work as a volunteer for the Mission of Mercy Project at our school. I hope to become an orthodontist.

I was thinking of applying to the following schools

VCU, Boston, WVU, New York, UNC-Chapel Hill, University of Illinois-Chicago, Howard, University of South Carolina, UMD (Dream school), UPitt, Harvard, and UPenn.

Realistically what are my chances?

Caveat: I was premed for 4 years, but this past year I've been thinking Dental may be right for me and that's when I started shadowing and what not.

Members don't see this ad.

1st things first: Have you taken all the pre-reqs and any of the 'strongly recommended courses schools advise? like MicroBio, Immuno, Human A&P?

Is there a possible way for you to redo your Ochem classes? Those are pre-reqs and getting B's and A's in the is strongly recommended. Other than that you have a Superb GPA and a great DAT.

Could you possible re-take your orgo courses? If you apply early next year, you are Golden. Finish everything off by June and submit the application by end of June (if you can do it earlier all the power to you brother)

1st things first: Have you taken all the pre-reqs and any of the 'strongly recommended courses schools advise? like MicroBio, Immuno, Human A&P?

Is there a possible way for you to redo your Ochem classes? Those are pre-reqs and getting B's and A's in the is strongly recommended. Other than that you have a Superb GPA and a great DAT.