chances after poor gpa freshman year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coldcore

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first time posting on these forums and I just received my grades for this semester. I Should also note I am enrolled at a CC for financial reasons and am taking my general ed classes there.

My first semester I did terrible, I failed three classes, a remedial math class, psychology, and a FYE class, got Cs in english and history and got a B+ in my Gen Bio class which is the only good thing I came out with. I got a 1.8 GPA for my first semester mainly due to me not caring and being lazy. At the time I did not really have any direction and was still trying to decide what I wanted to do with my life.

My second semester I performed much better. I began to take and interest in biology as I did really good in my first class and the subject itself just greatly interest me. Then when I got the idea in my head that I can become a doctor it was the first time I really felt like I found something I would like to do the rest of my life. To learn how the human body works and how to cure it sounds amazing to me.:love:

With all that I am now taking school much more seriously. I recieved a A in my Bio and history class. B+ in a computer elective, a B in a speech and sociology class. With that said I received a 3.5 this semester which averages my GPA for freshman year to a 2.6.:( I am taking the remedial math class again this summer as I need to greatly brush up on my math skills.

I have a very good upward grade trend but I am curious just how hard it will be these next three years to become competitive to get into medical school. I really beat myself up when I think about how poorly I did my first semester and how I pretty much shot my GPA in the foot. Do I need to come out of each semester now with a 4.0 GPA to even be considered?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,