About the ads

1. Check out PREMED.me!
    Offers FREE service to help premeds manage their applications and MCAT study calendars and identify schools to target.

Chances and advice

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by niabrams, Jul 20, 2012.

1. SDN is a nonprofit organization. Services are made possible through the generous support of SDN members and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. niabrams

niabrams

Pre-Medical

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    So I already asked about my chances a while ago, but my situation has changed a bit.
    I have a 3.26 sGPA and a 3.3 cGPA. I graduated UG 2 years ago from WashU and went on to do a master's in finance. I realized, at the start, that my interests still very much lay in medicine, and so I am going back to do some post-bacc work to finish up my prerequisites (organic chem and bio). With the exception of shadowing/volunteering/research (no pubs) in the summer after my freshman year, I have little to no clinical anything.

I had originally assumed I was a solid no-go for MD and DO programs. However, my advisors keep telling me that as long as I do decently on the MCAT in the spring and get in clinical and shadowing, I have a good shot at DO and an okay (well, low but still present) shot at low-tier MD schools if I apply in June 2013.

That sounds dandy, but I'm worried that it is BS. So, SDN, what do you think?
  2. Temperature101

Temperature101

Medical Student
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    DO is your best shot now with a 28+ mcat. I think you would have to kill the mcat(35+) to have a shot at MD.
  3. mybubbles627

mybubbles627

Medical Student
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    I agree with the above post and your post. You could have a very good shot at DO with a 28 and MD with 33 or so. What state are you a resident off? That will also affect your MD chances.
  4. niabrams

niabrams

Pre-Medical
    California :'(