Chances at Columbia, Brown or Albert Einstein Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AKG12345

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am presently enrolled in Columbia's Post Baccalaureate Program. As an aspirant physician, I staunchly desire to attend a highly ranked medical school so that , or otherwise I see no point in becoming a physician. The reason behind my rationale is that prospective patients gauge their doctors' competency by which medical school they attended, and so I believe that if I attend a reputed medical school, I will be able to earn the trust of my patients. My situation is as follows, I completed my undergraduate degree in Economics and Business Administration from the University of Miami with a cumulative GPA of 3.1, as I had initially wanted to become an investment banker. However, after having worked in investment banking for a year, basically in the form of unpaid internships, I had soon realized that investment banking was suited for me; mainly because of long, vague hours, and no prospect of employment after having done legalized slavery for senior bankers. In pursuit of my ambition of wanting to become a doctor, I enrolled at Columbia's Post Baccalaureate program. Although I have only just started my first semester here at Columbia, I have a couple of questions pertaining to my prospects of admission at a highly ranked medical school, which are as follows

1) Given my mediocre 3.1 undergraduate GPA, and that I hypothetically earn a 3.8-3.9 GPA, and a 35 on the MCAT, how would prospects of admission at Columbia, Brown or Albert Einstein be?

2) Given how low my cumulative undergraduate GPA is, does it even make sense to pursue medicine as a career option?

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Your previous "career" (short as it was) has the potential to make for an intriguing story, if spun well.