Chances? Biomed Engineering cgpa 4.0/sgpa 4.0/26 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premed1590

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
long time lurker, first time poster.

Just got my mcat score back: REMOVED FOR CYCLE
I'm a Texas resident. Applying to all the schools in Texas, including TCOM for 2015 entry.

Have a 4.0 in REMOVED FOR CYCLE, and I am really deciding whether I should retake the MCAT. My composite was much lower than my AAMC avg (30), but still nothing below an 8 so idk whether I should retake. Would I even be considered at any Texas allopathic schools?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Almost all Texas medical schools (minus Baylor, UTSW, and UT Houston) have an accepted 10-90th percentile range beginning at a 26 MCAT. Unless you believe you can raise your score to ~30 ASAP, I would recommend applying now. It will be a challenge, but you have a great GPA and TMDSAS has already been receiving applications for almost a month and a half so you need to get your application in as soon as possible. As for the application, any volunteering hours? Are you URM?

Members don't see this ad :)
I have already submitted my primary and all of my secondaries. I do have it listed that I will be retaking the MCAT on July 2nd. I'm Caucasian.. unfortunately. My AAMC avg was a 30 so I'm not exactly sure what to do :shrug:

And no, I do not have any volunteering, just listed volunteering as a planned activity. I do have quite a few academic awards and some leadership.

You're fine for nearly all DO schools, so start with TCOM.