Chances for latecomers

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kevdubs

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just decided a couple of months ago to apply to med school after always assuming i would go to grad school. I am 24 already, but i have good grades and I just took the mcat and did well on that too. So basically i just started this process a few months ago i have no idea what schools to aim for, so hopefully this board can help some.
Here is my info:

community college GPA: 3.8
BS Biochem at top 50 school GPA: 4.0

MCAT: 11 V 15 PS 12 BS = 38Q

LOR: should have some pretty good ones
Work: cancer lab since i graduated 5 months ago
Research: 2 years
Activities: Acted in a play, yellow bike club, play in bands
Volunteer: 3 months non-medical
1 month medical (with patient contact)
Awards: some scholarships

So obviously my weakness is lack of extracurricualrs and volunteer (especially medically related), which im workign on currently to get more of. If i had known that I was going to try applying to med schools, i would have started all this earlier, but its too late now.
So what are my chances of getting into a decent school for Fall 09, assuming I increase my volunteer activity and maybe even shadow a doctor? And what schools are realistic for me to look at?
Also, any advice on how to beef up your app in such a short time?

Thanks for any help.

Members don't see this ad.