Chances for MD 29 MCAT 3.913 cGPA 3.9sGPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

skgudwns

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I'm a NY resident, asian male
MCAT 29 (8vb/10bs/11ps)
cGPA: 3.913
sGPA ~3.9
I graduated from Cornell
My extra curriculars are pretty decent but not outstanding (no research background), but I have a lot of public health/ global health experiences, 2 campus organization leadership position, many hours of shadowing doctors, many hrs of volunteering, fraternity philanthropy chair with on campus leadership, and also worked as a medical assistant at a very well-established doctor's office after graduating.

I was wondering my chances at MD schools. I know my MCAT is very low but is there a chance my GPA might outweigh the low MCAT for some medical schools? I'm mostly looking at all NY public schools, lower tier med school and reaching for mid-tier.

Would I be competitive OOS applicant for lower tier medical schools? I looked through MSAR and wasn't sure how strong of a candidate I was looking at school's MCAT 10th-90th percentile.

Should I consider studying for 2 months and taking the new MCAT in 6/18? If so, would my AMCAS considered not complete until my MCAT score comes?

I know it's a lot of questions but would really appreciate any kind of input!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Would I be competitive OOS applicant for lower tier medical schools? I looked through MSAR and wasn't sure how strong of a candidate I was looking at school's MCAT 10th-90th percentile.

Should I consider studying for 2 months and taking the new MCAT in 6/18? If so, would my AMCAS considered not complete until my MCAT score comes?

You have to pay $27 to get useful info!

1. When did you take the MCAT?
2. Have you checked the schools you're interested in to make sure they'll accept that MCAT date (I believe some schools are no longer accepting the old MCAT; so make sure)