Chances in Neurology for a IMG with 'very long GAP' and good research experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

danielchess_MD

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear Colleagues,

My situation may not be unique, but I guess I am in the limit of the extreme.
Any suggestion or advice will be highly welcome.

I am 44 y/o, and I Graduated 20 years ago and completed 1 Year Residency in Clinical neurophysiology prior leaving my country to another place where I completed my PhD in specific neurological disease (neuroscience/neurology PhD Program). After coming to US in 2001 for post-doctoral experiences, I have been involved in academic research and secured an Associate Prof. position in a State University (many federal grants, publications = 44, mostly same topic/basic mechanisms of this CNS disease), significant teaching experience in neuroscience, physiology, anatomy, etc.

At this stage of my career I truly want to enter in Clinical Neurology, and specialize in this disease I have being investigating for so many years with a great passion. (Good LoRs from Experts in the field, one of them Neurologist/PhD).

I have finished Step 1 (239) and Step 2 CK (230) first attempt (fresh on late 2013 -2014), and CS is pending in next month.

I am doing observerships in Internal Medicine/Cardiology since April 2014. Many hours per week and hard but rewarding work. Very Strong LoR from this experience.

It appears Observership may not count for my case, but this is the only thing I can do at this time. I have polished my dormant clinical skills, gained a very good experience with the US medical system and I know well the Electronic Clinical Record software, etc. Multilingual clinical skills (English, Spanish, Portuguese).

I am looking to join any Neurology Program (MATCH 2015), except for those ones in the West Coast. Ideally, I am looking for a program with significant interest on research.