Chances of getting accepted into a Dental School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AntiDentite19

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN, new to this and wanted some advice and honesty

I'm an undergraduate senior and major in Biology.

My expected GPA after I graduate would probably be around a 3.26 sGPA 3.0

I admit my first two years weren't my strongest, due to personal reasons, which took a hit on my GPA. However I am finishing my senior yr strong and have gotten mostly A's in the hardest levels of sciences my program has to offer (Physics, Pharmacology, Biochem).

I have not yet taken the DAT but have already scheduled it for post graduation. Hoping to earn a 22+ or higher; My interests are NYU, Rutgers, Temple, and Buffalo. If it helps I'm also part of multiple school clubs and have some community and shadowing hrs. (Not sure if there enough though).

Besides resulting to post bacc and MS programs, do I have a realistic shot of making it into any of the above schools? Also do schools recognize the positive slopes of GPA? Was hoping if I did amazing in the hardest courses they can see that I can actually keep up with the criteria & consider me.

Members don't see this ad.

realistic shot with a 22? yes.

Reactions: 1 user
If you submit your application in the first week it opens AND get a 22, then yes. Cheers.

Members don't see this ad :)
I dont know about highly competitive but you should still have a pretty good shot even if August isn't exactly the earliest possible with a 22+ DAT. Good luck.

I applied with a 3.31 oGPA/3.3 sGPA (with a near 4.0 trend for four semesters though), and 23 AA/23 TS/24 PAT and applied to 15 schools. I received 14 interviews, and was accepted to 8 of the 9 schools whose interview I attended... so yes, get a 22+ and you'll be fine.

Disclaimer: I am Brazilian and thus a URM, so your mileage may vary.

Reactions: 3 users