Chances of matching?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cozmopak

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here are my stats:

Step I: 238
Clinical grades: All high passes
Preclinical grades: A mix of passes and honors
Medical school: Top 40
Research: I have a few projects going, none in urology
Other experience: I took a year after my clerkships to work in the pathology department as a student fellow, where I essentially functioned as a first year pathology resident, performing many autopsies and learning how to gross specimens. I figure this experience would be helpful for surgery.

What do you guys think?

Members don't see this ad.

Your numbers are good. Do sub I's get good letters from infulential people in your dept. Apply widely.

yada yada

you'll probably match. I have no experience with the process whatsoever, and have no business giving you advice, but I feel like anyone who has read this forum long enough can predict what's coming.

I dont think you're any better or worse off than myself or any of the guys I know that are applying this year. I think we'll both (I hope) get interviews, and from there who knows. See you on the interview trail.

Members don't see this ad :)
I dont think you're any better or worse off than myself or any of the guys I know that are applying this year. I think we'll both (I hope) get interviews, and from there who knows. See you on the interview trail.

Thanks man!

Any other opinions?

Good chances as long as you don't interview poorly. Get some urology research under your belt from your home program if you can.

Hi,
Same question, slightly different situation:

Brand new third year, Step 1 of 228, mid-tier school. Obviously not ideal, and I feel I'm under more pressure to settle on a career right now because I have to spend two more years focusing efforts towards that pursuit.