Chances??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

calibaby1212

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so 3.31 gpa, over 3.2 science gpa, 19 mcat, research, shadowed podiatrist multiple times, job and volunteer at hospital, great lors

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
The lower MCAT is a bit of an issue. If you can, retake it and try to bump it up. Because of the way the scoring is set up, scoring a 19 is pretty low in terms of percentages. The sGPA is fine, but what school did you attend? Is it well known? While extracurriculars are nice, it doesn't seem that it plays as big a role in acceptance when compared to DO or allo schools. Right now, if you apply early in the next cycle, you have a fighting chance to be accepted, but simply bumping your MCAT up 3-4 points can pretty much guarantee you acceptance.

I went to oakland university and its becoming well known, I majored in health sciences, so u think if I can get it to like a 21 or 22 ill be good? I'm planning on applying right away around august 1

I went to oakland university and its becoming well known, I majored in health sciences, so u think if I can get it to like a 21 or 22 ill be good? I'm planning on applying right away around august 1

I was told in an interview that your bio score on the MCAT is a good indicator of ability to succeed at the graduate level (ample effort included of course). I'm not saying it's ok to flunk the other sections of the test, but supposedly a 10 or higher is a good score in biology. If you feel comfortable with increasing your MCAT then I would say go for it.

But what if I don't improve or I only go up to a 20? U think if I apply right away in the cycle that I'd have a chance? I'm really interested in ohio.

Ok so 3.31 gpa, over 3.2 science gpa, 19 mcat, research, shadowed podiatrist multiple times, job and volunteer at hospital, great lors