Choosing a school dilemma! (Indiana Univ or Western U?)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eyeballerboiler

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all,

I was wondering if anyone could put their two cents in which school they think would be better in the long run. I've been accepted to both IUSO and WesternU. IUSO has a solid program and prepares you well for the boards. They are VERY well reputed and I know a few people that are currently students there right now and love it.

Western U is a unique, relatively new school that allows you to interact with other health professional students which is a really cool concept. Also, their technology was BEYOND incredible and have state of the art everything. I absolutely loved everything. Their board passing rates are not as high as IUSO.

I am an Indiana resident currently, so financially I will save at least 60-70K by going to IUSO instead of Western. But I feel like the opportunities are more in California.

Honestly, I felt more comfortable at WesternU and its stunning environment. So, my heart is telling me to go to WesternU, but my brain is telling me to go to IUSO. Any advice or is anyone else in a similar situation with two schools? Would the more money investment be better later on? Appreciate it!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was in a situation like yours a few weeks ago. I was deciding between IUSO and OSU. I'm also an Indiana resident and accepted IUSO's offer because of their great reputation, board pass rates, research opportunities and I loved their campus. Another deciding factor was the tuition. Being an in-state resident would save me money in the long run compared to going out of state for school. Also, IUSO has an excellent network of alumni which would definitely come in handy when I graduate and look for a job. I can't speak for Western U but it sounds like a great school. Good luck with your decision!