Choosing Undergrad

deathnaut

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!

Senior year is coming to an end and I'm still trying to figure out where to go to school.
I'm majoring in Philosophy, and I'll be doing my pre-med prereqs. I hope to go to UWash's School of Medicine.
So far, I've been accepted to Texas A&M with a $14,000 scholarship, U of Arizona with a $120,000 scholarship, U of Texas with a $40,000 scholarship, Penn State, U Pitt, and I'm waiting to hear from U Penn. I am a Texas resident so location is a huge factor. Any input? I can't seem to find much on UT's medical school undergrad student acceptance rates.

Members don't see this ad.

Texas resident here.

Congratulations on some fine options indeed. But go ahead and cross A&M, Penn State, and Pitt right off the list. UT is a great school in a great city, and the scholarship makes this an easy decision.

A priority throughout your schooling would be to minimize debt. After you crunch the numbers, you'll have to see if going to UT vs. Arizona will be worth it for you (assuming UT will cost more). That said, UT is a better school and Austin>>>Tuscon. But you will be fine at either, as both are big state schools with plenty of opportunities. Pending your potential Penn acceptance, if you're dead set on medical school it's controversial whether or not an ivy education makes much difference from an acceptance standpoint. But that is a separate issue. You will probably graduate with more debt from there, though.

As far as "acceptance rates" go, try your best to ignore those. If you do it right, you'll get in somewhere. But UT alums have a formidable presence at every medical school in Texas.

It is good to have a goal in mind. However, you'll have a tough time cracking into the Northwest as a TX resident. But as people will tell you, focus on doing well in college and worry about where to apply to medical school when the time comes. You absolutely cannot beat the in-state TX med school tuition rates though...