Chronic Pain without a fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
I wanted to get advice from all the people that use this forum. I was recently approached by a pain doc here in my hometown about possibly joining his practice. I am not pain trained but he says that he would rather train someone he likes and can get along with as a partner rather than "some random person who could be a jerk and happens to be fellowship trained". He has an established practice that seems well set up and he does very well financially. I have concerns, mainly about future reimbursements, possible referral issues and my viability in practice after he retires 10-15 years from now. What do you guys think? I'm a new grad and my job opportunities in this specific region of the country are limited and this has fallen in my lap. Thanks for the help.

Members don't see this ad.

I would opt not to take the job. Chronic Pain patients in my experiance are some of the most difficult to manage and these patients a lot of times are very well informed on your board certification and fellowship training. As soon as a procedure did not go well or patient outcome not to their satisfaction the lawyers come around. Not sure you could get covered for malpractice either in a 100% pain practice. Would you be willing to do a fellowship in pain and call back in a year? G0od luck finding work!

I think you would be ok if you are practicing in the state that I think you are as far as litigation goes. Many older anesthesiologists doing pain in this state without fellowship.

Members don't see this ad :)