Civilian Independent Contractor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vitriol102

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings!

I signed up as an independent contractor with a military clinic. Being completely new to this, I could use some help.

1. Where can I get more information and resources on this topic so that I may know what questions to ask....(I wasn't kidding when I wrote I am completely new to this)

2. Credentialing process, including national security questionnaire, is painful. In your experience, once all the documents are submitted, how long does it generally take?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
colbgw02: yes, I have signed the contract. Now I'm going through the credentialing process.

colbgw02: yes, I have signed the contract. Now I'm going through the credentialing process.

As you're discovering, there is a lot of paperwork involved. However, with respect to credentialing, that's not particularly unique to military medicine. Whenever you'll start working depends on when you'll be presented to the credentialing committee. Beyond that point, things tend to progress pretty rapidly. The best advice I can give you is to be extremely pro-active (welcome to federal bureaucracy).

Other questions about the job either 1) should have already been asked/answered or 2) will be answered.

What do you mean by national security questions? Are you referring to getting a secret or top-secret clearance? In that case, I don't think I got mine for several years. If you are referring to a general background check, then that should occur fairly quickly.

What do you mean by national security questions? Are you referring to getting a secret or top-secret clearance? In that case, I don't think I got mine for several years. If you are referring to a general background check, then that should occur fairly quickly.