Cliche New Guy Looking For help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TrueWolverine

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hope this is the right spot to post something like this....

New to the forum (loving it so far) and here for some help. I've been reading for hours now (enough to get discouraged, then encouraged, then discouraged, and on and on) and decided it was finally time for me to look for some help of my own. I know there's 10000 threads asking about chances but everyone's situation is different and I'm a first generation pre-med student and could really use some help.

Not sure how to start so here goes....

Academics:
Currently a senior studying Biology at Utah Valley University (UVU) planning on applying Spring 2016
cGPA- 3.13 sGPA- 3.4 (a couple retakes)
MCAT- To be determined August of this year
Graduated high school with associates degree

EC's:
Patient Care- 200+ (I work as a Physical Therapy Aide)
Research- 2 semesters (40-50 Hours)
Leadership- Program Director over blood drives on UVU Service Council
-Student Coordinator on Service Council (Over a group of Program Directors)
-Organizing Hunger Banquet this semester (raising poverty awareness)
Shadowing- Currently 20 hours (Pediatrics and Surgery) with connections to continue to shadowing until I apply
Volunteer- 40 hours at a few different places (both on campus and off), going to focus on lots of volunteering this summer
-4-H Mentor (Mentoring a kid once a week for at least a year who doesn't have a great situation at home, this one could be used as volunteer or leadership) Just starting this program so I don't have definite hours
-2 year mission for LDS Church (volunteer, paid my whole way)
-Eagle Scout

Certified as EMT-B and CNA in high school (not current anymore so I'm not sure if they even care about something like that)
LoR's- One from DO, one from MD, working on an academic one