Clinical Case

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cozmokramer

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Not a long time poster but long time lurker. I always love clinical cases so I thought I would give this a go. I am a 3rd year resident doing some moonlighting and had this patient present to the somewhat rural ED where I was moonlighting. More geared to medical students and interns to generate a discussion on medical resuscitation and troubleshooting when things don't work out like you want them.

Got grabbed by nursing staff as they wheeled a patient from triage back to our one trauma room (not brought by EMS) . She looks somewhere between 30-40 years old and looks sick. There is a boyfriend who has been with her for about one month accompanying her. My first question to the boyfriend was "what is going on?" He didn't offer much other than she told him her stomach hurt. The patient is somewhat confused but can answer yes/no questions and the boyfriend is sitting in the room. And go!

Members don't see this ad.

Please give us the vital signs, history, and exam.

Pan lab, tox, etoh, CT head, CT abd, CXR. 2 IV, fluids, ACLS, admit.

Members don't see this ad :)
Ectopic until proved otherwise vice PID. Check for retained tampon also.

Vital signs and tooth:tattoo ratio, please.

EDIT: vital signs INCLUDING tooth:tattoo ratio, please.

I'd start rehearsing my acceptance speech for the Nobel Prize in Medicine for seeing a female with abdominal pain!

Seriously though, I'd ask the boyfriend if he wanted to check in as well for his 2 years of tooth pain.

My initial thoughts when I read this case...

1. Probably a drug seeker; make sure that's a discharge diagnosis so they don't get a press-ganey survey.
2. Call security on the nurse for "grabbing me"
3. Call surgery to admit.