Clinical/human translational research training -MD vs MD-PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tab3

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am beginning the application process for a 2016 medical school matriculation, and am trying to evaluate my options in the MD-PhD sphere as they pertain, not just to a traditional bench research, but to more clinical research as well. My background is a mix of basic and bench-centered translational research in immunology (ie. mouse models of disease, cell signaling, etc), and while I love the goal-oriented, hypothesis-driven mindset inherent in good medical research, I really doubt my interest in running a basic lab with minimal patient contact. I think that a more clinically-oriented research program would be of far greater interest to me, particularly one with a "bench-to-bedside" type approach or even outright clinical trial-based work.

The crux of the problem for me is that most MSTP programs as I understand them seek to train basic scientists, and that is not what I am looking to do. But separate and apart from this fact, I think that I would enjoy and benefit from an MSTP that allowed me to pursue the kind of research and get the kind of training that I am looking for. That said, I am also certain that I could find meaningful opportunities to get this training as an MD candidate, which makes me wonder whether the MD-PhD is simply the wrong path for me given my interests.

So my question is twofold:

1. Could current MD-PhD students or recent grads comment on the extent to which they (or colleagues) interface with the clinical realm as part of their research/grad studies? I realize that this is entirely lab/PI-dependent, but I am really just looking to collect a range of experiences.