clinical psychology vs public health in the global mental health arena

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

River0fWords

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there! I graduated with a BA in sociology/psychology from Harvard in 2013 and am currently working as a research coordinator at an anxiety disorders treatment center in Boston. I hope one day to - in addition to administering psychotherapy - design and implement programs for psychosocial support for communities affected by trauma, especially mass violence.

I intend to apply to graduate programs in the next year but feel as though I don't have the information I need to make a sound decision about which discipline within global mental health / international trauma is the best fit for me. I am currently on a clinical psychology PhD trajectory but am now considering a dual MSW/MPH degree, a PhD in public health/MSW combo, or even a PsyD. I'm posting here because I could use some insight about the differences in the roles played and approaches applied in global mental health by individuals with these educational backgrounds. How might the involvement of public health personnel (with an MSW) working on a global mental health intervention look different from that of a clinical psychologist's? What are the most notable differences in the training within each discipline for someone who intends to focus on community trauma interventions internationally? What do you think are the most important considerations as someone with my aspirations grapples with the question of which discipline to pursue? Lastly, any suggestions about jobs for the upcoming year that would give me good exposure to the subject matter at this early stage in my career? Any help would be SO appreciated as good advice has been hard to come by.