Columbia College First Year Schedule

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yjkimnada

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
As a potential Biology or Neuroscience major, I would like some help in choosing my courses. Here are my classes:

First Semester:
Literature Humanities
Frontiers of Science
Organic Chemistry for first years 3045 (did well on placement test)
Physics (either 1200 or 1400; HELP in choosing)
Calculus III (got 5 on BC)

Second Semester:
Same but switch Frontiers for University Writing
And switch Calculus III for Intensive General Chemistry Lab 1507

I am a pre-med student in Columbia College and I have satisfied my language requirement. So I plan on taking my one year general physics requirement and get it out of the way. I don't need to take 1400 physics since I'm not engineering. But should I? 1200 will probably be brain dead easy. Or should I go for the 1200? Do medical schools really only care about GPA and nothing about course difficulty like 1200 vs 1400. Thanks.

Also, thoughts on freshman orgo?

Members don't see this ad.

They only care about gpa. Nobody will care if you do 1200 or 1400. Don't forget the 1 credit Physics lab that goes with each semester (I think it might be 1291 and 1292.)

You really might not want to overload yourself for your first semester. I'm sure you're very smart and did great in high school and are well prepared for orgo, but this is college and all of your courses will be curved against the other students. Maybe wait a semester just to be sure you know what you're in for before you start packing in all those courses. Lit Hum is probably more time consuming than you realize.

They only care about gpa. Nobody will care if you do 1200 or 1400. Don't forget the 1 credit Physics lab that goes with each semester (I think it might be 1291 and 1292.)