Coming to heme/onc late

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thatsmate

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm an intern in a reasonably well regarded IM residency (top 20?), and I'm struggling with a decision about fellowship. When I started residency, I thought for sure I would do PCCM or possibly cardiology. But as I progress in training, I'm starting to learn that I hate the 'emergent' nature of those fields. The MICU was an absolute grind. I find myself wanting a career where I can actually sit down and think about my patients, rather than just acting to stablize them. I also want a field with a long term relationship with my patients. I did a month of an onc service and I really enjoyed the patient population, as well as the targeted therapies.

The problem is, I feel woefully unprepared for a hem/onc match. My cointerns who want to do hem/onc all seem to have basic science cancer biology phds, while I have a few abstracts I published in medschool- in cards. I've never wanted to be a bench scientist, but being involved in clinical trials sounds engaging. How should I move forward? Should I basically write off the idea of applying to fellowship immediately after residency, in favor of a year of hospitalist/research?

Members don't see this ad.

Ask for a meeting with the Hem/Onc PD at your program and talk about this. S/he can help hook you up with a mentor who can get you some clinical research pronto. It's not too late but you're going to have to put some effort into it.

Thanks for the response.

Any tips for the kind of research I should look in to, or the kinds of mentors to look for? I have a tough time wrapping my head around resident research given the time constraints. A lot of people are paying tons of money to publish a case report, which is kind of absurd. How can I approach it practically?

Thanks for the response.