Comlex score and EM residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dkwyler94

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just got my COMLEX I score back about 20 minutes ago and was a bit disapointed. I generally do quite well on standardized tests. On sample tests I was doing pretty well. I thought I had done well on the test after leaving it. I did not.

I know boards scores aren't the most important. I think I will do well on rotations. I am doing a volunter week in the ER right now, and the doctors are complimentary and have said I should do great on rotations. There isn't a residency in this ER, but the doctors have said they would help me get into a program(whatever that means).

So here is my question. I am a DO student at KCOM about to start my 3rd year.

Scored 37% on Comlex
Didn't take USMLE
48% for class rank.

If things do go well in rotations, would you think I have a reasonably good shot at getting into an ER program, or should I start looking at other areas of medicine?

Thanks
:(

Members don't see this ad.

Don't fret. Quite yet.

True, board scores are a criteria used... but they are not the only ones. Good to see you are pretty much right in the middle of your class rank. That's good news.

You'll need to do well on rotations (I'm sure you will). Don't freak out and become a stress-ball about it... just do good work. On your EM audition rotations, show interest, go the extra mile, and it'll make a difference.

What DO program are you at? Where are you doing your rotations at (just curious).

If you rotate at an MD institution and get a decent LOR, I think you'll have a shot at an MD program. You'll have a good shot at a MD program. If you stick with DO programs, you probably won't be as lucky (but still possible) if you apply to MD programs. If you just want DO programs, shoot, you can pick whichever one you want, they're so muhc less competitive.